books 2009 First Novel Award

Nominees for the 2009 First Novel Award have been announced. The prize is $7500.

And the nominees are:

  • No Place Strange, by Diana Fitzgerald Bryden
  • The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon
  • Come, Thou Tortoise, by Jessica Grant
  • Goya’s Dog, by Damian Tarnopolsky
  • Diary of Interrupted Days, by Dragan Todorovic
  • Daniel O’Thunder, by Ian Weir

The winner will be announced in April in Toronto. All finalists get a $750 gift certificate redeemable at

NB: Annabel Lyon’s The Golden Mean was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General’s Award, and the Rogers Writer’s Trust Fiction Prize in 2009. It won the latter. I haven’t yet read this book but from the sounds of it, it’s worth checking out!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *